Interview with tianajade

This interview is with writer of the popular story ‘The Black Rose Killer’, which has over 200,000 reads, tianajade

1.            When did you decide that you wanted to start writing?

At the end of December 2010.

2.            What is your writing process?

Usually when a story idea comes to mind, I write it down in my journal or my phone, and then when it’s time to begin writing the story, I form the story idea into a plot, then make up the characters and the step by step of what will be happening in the story. For me, story ideas usually form pretty easily.

3.            Do you plan out your books, or just go with the flow?

 I plan. For me, planning ahead is always best, otherwise I might miss things, or get carried away or forget something etc.

4.            Do you have a specific writing style?

 I personally don’t think so, but my readers may have different opinions. (:

5.         Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

 Nope. Everything in my story is fictional. Although sometimes I add a little of my personality into a character, but other than that all the events and such that take place in my story(s) are fictional.

6.         Do you see writing as a career?

            No, I don’t. Just a hobby.

7.         Which of your characters is your favourite?

            I like writing all my characters, but I think either Zoe (Keelea’s best friend) or Jace (Keelea’s love interest). They both have personalities that I love to write about! 🙂 One is bubbly and carefree and the other is cocky but also has a romantic side.

8.         What was the hardest part to write in your novels?

             Probably when my main character was kidnaped and tortured by the serial killer. I had to jump into my character more than usual and imagine myself in her position so that I could explain all the descriptions and emotions to the best of my ability. I remember deleting and restarting that chapter many times, until finally it was something that I was proud of!

9.         Have you got any up-and-coming novels that you are planning?

            Yes. I actually have many story ideas floating around in my head, written on my phone and in my journal, but I’m taking each story one step at a time. At the moment I am working on the sequel to ‘The Black Rose Killer’. If that story goes well, then I may begin writing one of my other story ideas (:

10.       How personal is your writing?

            At the moment, not so personal. I once wrote a story that was very personal, and it didn’t do such a good job at the time, so I deleted it. Now I try and stay away from my writing being too personal.

11.       If you could work with any author who would it be?

             Published authors? If so, then I would love to work with either Richelle Mead or Alexandra Adornetto.  I have many favourite authors, but these two are definitely some of the best!

12.       How did you come up with the titles?

             For ‘The Black Rose Killer’; it just came to me as I began planning my plot. Considering the storyline, the title was pretty obvious. For the sequel, at the moment the title is still being decided. But my fans and readers have been helping me a lot, so it would be all thanks to them if I decide to choose one of their suggested titles! :’)

13.       Do you have any advice for other writers?

             Just like I’ve stated a few times before, write for yourself, write how you want to write and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. It is helpful to receive constructive feedback, but you need to make sure that you stick to your own ideas and stick to the way you want to write, not the way someone else tells you to write. You are always going to get readers that will not agree or dislike something in your story – it happens. But you just need to keep in mind that it’s your story, you are the writer, and therefore no one else has a say in how your story goes. So stick to your guns and remember that you’re the one in charge of your story, no one else (:

14.       If you could have a meal with any of your characters, where would you take them and who would you take?

            I would choose Xavier, because he’s a romantic…and he shares his food XD I don’t really care about fancy places, so I’d probably just take him to a nice, local restaurant or even – if the sun is out and it’s a nice warm day – on a picnic by the river surrounded by green grass, the trees, the water and the fresh air.

I better stop there, or I’ll get carried away…

15.       What was the funniest thing you have ever experienced?

             Right this second off the top of my head I honestly can’t remember, but I know that just about every funny experience that took place in my life was with my cousin. Not one day went by that we didn’t laugh, do something funny or exciting. We were always making up games and generally having a blast with anything we could find! (:

16.       If you could meet anyone (dead or alive) who would it be and why?

            Hmm. No one at the moment I don’t think.

17.       What are 3 things that you would like to do before you die?

            A lot of the things I want to achieve/do before I die are personal, so I won’t state those. I’ll state three less personal, although they’re not at the top of my ‘to-do list’. 1: I would love to travel Australia and take photographs of this amazing country! 2: Bungee Jumping; I’ve always wanted to do that! And 3: Rescue as many endangered animals as possible.

18.       If you could slap one book character, who would it be?

             I’ve read so many books, and there are so many characters I’d love to slap. But just one would be…Ever from The Immortals series by Alyson Noel. I don’t like her character; she’s always making the wrong decisions and I can never feel her love for Damen. I would love to slap her silly and shake some sense into that character XD

19.       What’s the most embarrassing thing that you’ve ever experienced?   

            Believe it or not, I haven’t had many embarrassing moments happen to me. But one semi-embarrassing moment that I can think of would be the time when I was in class, and everyone was silent and listening to the teacher, or doing their work, and suddenly I fell off my chair – because I was leaning on it – and the whole close erupted in fits of laughter. It was the talk of the school for weeks. -.-

20.       Can you tell us some fun facts about you?

            I really don’t like talking about myself much XD
I don’t think I have any fun facts about me. Some just general facts would be:

1: I love to clean.

2: I love to listen to music from the 50’s to the 80’s.

3: I love animals, and I will fall in love with every one that I come across.

4: I’m currently in love with Peach Iced-Tea.

5: I’m obsessed with Sims.

6: I get too attached to characters in my favourite stories.

7: I’ve been home-schooled for three years.

8: I’m probably the shyest person ever. But once people get to know me, and I come out of my shell, I never shut-up and I’m a bit of a handful 😉

I’m not very interesting, I know. xD

About xsmileforthecamera

Heya, I'm xSmileForTheCamera http://www.wattpad.com/user/xSmileForTheCamera var wp_user="xSmileForTheCamera";var wp_size=1;

Posted on July 30, 2011, in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment